This morning after I dropped the kids off at preschool, I went to a bone marrow donor drive and registered as a donor.  I received a sticker as a reward, and I slapped it on my shirt, knowing Carina would be jealous of my new treasure.

When I picked the kids up from school, she asked me about the sticker within 15 seconds of coming into visual contact with me, even though it was mostly covered by my hair.

Me: I got this sticker for signing up to be a donor, Carina.

C: What’s a donor?

Me: It means that I promised to help people if they get really, really sick.

C: But, Daddy’s at work!  Who will watch Callen and me?

Me: I’m not going to go help today.  If I do need to go help, I’ll wait til Daddy gets home.

A few minutes later, Callen was telling the story of how he got an old, yucky cheerio at snack time and he had to spit it out.

Me: What happened after you spit it out, Callen?

Cal: I got sick.

Me: You got sick?!  Oh, I doubt that.

Cal:  No.  I sick now.

Carina: Mommy!  Callen is Sick!  You have to help! You promised to help sick people, because remember, now you’re a DOUGHNUTTER!

Me: *cracking up laughing*

Carina: Oh.  Whoops. What’s it called again?

