Moms can never believe it when it happens, and now I can’t believe it has happened to me.  My baby isn’t a baby anymore, and you can hardly classify her as a toddler.  She’s officially a kid!

Her teachers at school were telling me today that they always think of her as being older than she is because she “talks so well.”  This is certainly her specialty – the one milestone she hit early, although I can remember the days when we couldn’t wait for her to talk.  Now, after answering “Why” questions for hours straight, sometimes I beg her for two minutes of silence.  She never gives it to me though.  “Just let me talk!” she hollers.  She comes up with inappropriately mature phrases at the most appropriate times.  A few days ago we were all in the car, Craig was talking out loud as he was trying to make a decision, when from the back seat we heard in a high-pitched voice, “well, you better make up your mind, Daddy!”

Carina has an awesome sense of humor, but can also be equally dramatic, whiny, and clingy.  Her laugh is infectious, and she loves to be in crowds.  She loves to help Callen learn things, and also enjoys sending him to the corner when he’s been naughty.  More than once we have argued over whose baby Callen is (she thinks he’s hers). She loves to color, and lately has taken to making lists. (Can’t imagine where she got that from!)  I see a lot of her father in her personality, so I’m preparing myself for the challenge of the teenage years now.  However, we’ve got 10 more years before then, so I’m going to enjoy them all.

The weekend before Carina’s birthday we had a party at Grandma and Papa’s house in Branson.  Carina had fun decorating her own cake with Grandma and Cameryn, possibly more so than actually eating it.  She was very excited about the new baby she got from Grandma and Papa, who she promptly named Smurf Beef.

101_0794

Carina’s actual birthday was on Thursday, August 27th.  That night after Craig got home from work we took her to Applebees for dinner because we also had to sneakily go to Target to buy her gifts.  She was very excited when the servers brought her a brownie sundae and we sang happy birthday to her.  When we got home, she opened her present from Ba-chan: a new piggy bank, complete with dollars to feed it!

Did I mention that she has her father's personality?

Did I mention that she has her father's personality?

On Saturday the 29th, we had a double-three-year-old party for Carina and her friend Amelie, who turned three on the 20th.  It was a garden themed party, due mostly to the fact that Carina had been asking for a “bee birthday cake” for the past several months. So Carina and Amelie were dressed as a bee and butterfly and several of the other kids were also dressed as fairies, ladybugs, and other garden friends.

The Birthday Girls

The Birthday Girls

Callen the Frog

Callen the Frog

Time for Cake!

Time for Cake!

I’ve uploaded more birthday pictures to our shutterfly share site.

