Get comfy, this is going to be a long one.

DRAMA: Two weeks ago today, “the biter” at Carina’s school who has been nibbling on her for a month or so attempted to pull a Mike Tyson on her sweet little chubby left cheek.  In the long run, she escaped with no lasting injuries, but she started out with a red bruise the size of a half dollar, complete with teeth marks.  She still says “NO BITE ME, Boy!!” when I tell her we are going to school, but she still always wants to go.  We have worked with the program to implement a safety policy for future occurrences such as this, Carina has switched from tue/thur to the mon/wed class, and after all the hub-bub, the biter’s family took him out of the program anyway. I hate that Carina had to endure this, but I try to see the good from the bad: now there is a policy in place which will benefit everyone in the program, and from what the teachers and director have told me, Carina’s new class is a better match for her.

DAY-SPAS: So after dealing with the bite drama through the week, I was attempting to sneak in a sleep-in on Friday morning, but Craig came in and said I had to get up.  He handed me a piece of paper that said “Mommy’s Day Off” at the top and went on to detail what he had lined up for me: a FULL DAY at the spa, followed by a night’s stay ALONE in a hotel room down town.  Yee-ha!  I had briefly mentioned about three weeks prior that I would just like to go somewhere where no one wanted anything from me (no offense, family), and of course, Craig followed through.  So, if you didn’t already know, now you for sure know that my hubby totally rocks the house.  After my adventure in “putting the day in day-spa,”  I picked up some pasta at a local deli, had a nice quiet dinner in my room, futzed around on the computer and watched TV, took a shower, and went to bed. It should be noted that during this evening, no one yelled, screamed, or cried.  I changed no diapers, wiped no faces, and there was no audience (Callen) or co-bathers (Carina) during my shower!  When I went to bed, I slept all night without getting up to feed or comfort anyone.  I woke up early and went to the 6am marathon training run without worrying about waking anyone up.  For the grand finale, I returned to my hotel room and took a nap.  By the time I got home on Saturday, I was rested, relaxed, and missing my family.  In the meantime, neither of the kids seemed to notice that I was gone, and Craig looked neither haggard or starved…so I think this was good for all of us.

Dallas:I briefly remember Craig sending me an email about a month and a half ago with the subject: “Want to go to Dallas?”, and through the blur of crazy days and sleep-deprived nights, I found myself packing a huge suitcase with rather small clothes and large quantities of jarred baby food and toddler snacks, so I must have said, “yes.”  We piggie-backed along with Craig to a conference that he attended at the Gaylord Texan resort hotel. The hotel is a huge building with hotel rooms all along the outer walls, which surrounded an inner courtyard area that is covered by a glass dome.  The kids and I spent hours wandering the walkways, visiting fish, admiring fountains, and watching as the place was transformed from its fall decor to a Christmas wonderland.

The view from our balcony (yes, this is indoors)

The view from our balcony (yes, this is indoors)

They fly ice carvers in from China to do a month-long event called “ICE”.  We ran into a few of the carvers, and although I couldn’t understand a word they said, I could tell that they were very enamoured with the blond headed, blue eyed short people I was shuttling around. Turns out that the Gaylord Texan is not really in Dallas, but in Grapevine, and since we didn’t have a car, we didn’t actually get into the city.  We did enjoy riding the “choo choo bus” (trolley) to the mall and downtown Grapevine on a couple days while Daddy was in class. The kids and I had fun on the trip (not sure about Craig…didn’t see much of him!), but I don’t know that we’ll go with Craig to any more conferences, as I found that it was a lot of work to keep two kids busy all day, get them to take naps on different schedules (thank goodness for the little balcony off of our room!), find appropriately healthy food, and get them both to sleep at night all on my own. (for more pics of our trip, visit http://4rechs.shutterfly.com)

Development: I can’t get over how fast these kids change, grow, and learn new tricks.  There is apparently something about Texas hotel rooms that make our kids want to get up and go.  Carina crawled for the first time in a hotel room in San Antonio (May 2007), and we weren’t in our hotel in Grapevine for 24 hours before Callen started pulling himself up onto things (namely, the bathtub)!  He is so incredibly proud of himself, and we are all proud of him too.  He pulls up on whatever he can find, then stands there and grins at us, wrinkles up his nose, and does a happy snort.  He also likes to pull out the fancy tricks and hold on with only one hand.

Check me out!

Check me out!

Look Mom, one hand!

Look Mom, one hand!

His poor noggin is having a rough time, as there have been many falls.  He is getting better though. He is still army man crawling, and before figuring out how to get his front end off the ground, went through a brief period where he tried really hard to get both of his feet up off the ground.  Quite funny.

I've been watching The Matrix.

I've been watching The Matrix.

We (I) have been trying to get Callen to sleep through the night for a couple months now.  He is not a big fan of sleep, and has settled into a routine of going to bed at 7pm and then waking up at 1am and 5am. I did the math and figured out that of the past 27 months, I have been able to sleep through the night for 10 of them.  I would just be happy if I could get him to drop that 1am wake up time.  If anyone has any tips, please let me know!

Carina is in the midst of potty training (again).  Thanks to my cousin Kate’s tips, Carina spends a good part of her at-home time running around naked from the waist down.  This has gone pretty well, and I am trying to move into the phase of having her wear her “big gurl unnies”, but she much prefers to feel the breeze (and to embarrass the neighbors when they come to the door).  We are still averaging about one accident a day, but we’re headed in the right direction.  I will be so glad when this part is over – Carina has been potty training for about 10 months now!

She is amazing us every day with her comprehension and use of language (English and otherwise), and her thought processes.  She really loves her little brother and is generally very kind and gentle to him.  She loves to “show” him to other kids. Here’s a video I caught of her talking (she normally clams up when the camera comes out).

