First, sorry for the delay on this post for those of you who have been looking for it.  Craig was out of town on Sunday and Monday, and I’ve been finishing up one last project for the Discovery Center, so my personal computer time has been a little limited.

This past Saturday, October 11th, was quite a colorful one for the Rechkemmers.  It started with an overload of PINK at the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure in downtown Little Rock.  I entered myself in this race about a month ago and have been sneaking in runs here and there in preparation.  The small stuff is that I’m pleased to say that I was able to run the whole 5K without walking, and in about 32 minutes, which was much better than I predicted.  The big stuff is that this was probably the absolute most amazing sporting event I have ever been to.  I’m not even sure you classify it as a sporting event so much as a mixture of many things, a culmination of sisterhood, a rally for the greater good, a huge party, a vehicle for awareness, an inspirational journey, a sea of pink, a memorial, therapy . . . i don’t know.  I don’t think you can put it in words. There were over 45,000 women that ran or walked in the race.  When the race started, it took me over 2 minutes to get to the starting line (and I was pretty close to the front!), and another 2 or 3 minutes before there was enough space around me to actually run.  There were thousands of spectators cheering, including bands, firefighters on top of their trucks, people handing out water, beads, leis, and bracelets, kids doing karate, and my favorite, a group of motorcycle riders reving their engines and holding a sign that said, “Save Second Base!”  It was so amazing that it was over before I had a chance to really take it all in.  I do remember running and feeling thankful that I could run.  I thought of the women I was running in celebration of: my playgroup buddy, Melody, who is currently doing battle with breast cancer (and winning!), and Craig’s Grandmother, Carol, who is a strong survivor.  I thought of my family and how lucky I am to have such a wonderful husband and two wonderful kids.  I said a little thank you to the Feola Family and Mike and Debe Rechkemmer, who helped me with my fundraising efforts. After the race, I met up with Craig and the kids, and we checked out the huge post-race block party that was going on.  We also watched the survivors’ parade, which featured breast cancer survivors dressed all in pink and holding signs that said how long they had been cancer free.  It made my skin tingle. As I watched with my daughter perched on my shoulders, I said a silent prayer that she will not have to worry about breast cancer – a prayer that all the effort and energy will be fruitful and a cure will be found.

From the race, we walked down to the Rivermarket district and went to a GREEN Home Expo.  It was a really great event.  Carina was just happy they had popcorn, but Craig and I leaned about some new resources we can put to use. It’s so exciting to see how the green movement has taken hold in this area.  I look forward to working with some of the green organizations here once both the kids are in school/preschool.

For lunch, we tried out Iriana’s Pizza, which came highly recommended.  Now we know why.  Not only was it possibly the most beautiful pizza I’ve ever seen, it was also very, very yummy!  Remind us, and we’ll take you there when you visit.

After lunch, we walked all the way back up to midtown, where we had parked our cars before the race.  By then, both the kids were crashed out in the stroller.  We headed home for naps and to change clothes, because we still had one more color to go – ORANGE.

In the afternoon, we packed back up and headed out to the tiny town of Mayflower, which is midway between Little Rock and Conway.  We went to Shaffer’s Pumpkin Patch for a playdate with the LUNA moms group (daddies included).  We had a great time going on a hay ride out to the pumpkin patch, where Carina picked out a nice ORANGE pumpkin for us and Callen tried to eat a few leaves.  We also met some really nice mommies and daddies while we were at it.  They have a corn maze there, but we were too tired to try it out.  Maybe some other day!

