Carina checking out the babydoll population in her new classroom.

Carina checking out the babydoll population in her new classroom.

On Tuesday Carina started at her new PDO program.  She was pretty excited to be going “back to school” and immediately shifted into her old routine of acting like she didn’t know me at drop off time in hopes that I would leave faster, and crying when I came to pick her up, as if she was trying to convince her teachers that I was going to take her home and beat her.  When we got out to the parking lot at the end of the day, she turned and pointed to the building and said “More!, More!” One of the nice things about her new program is that the curriculum is online, so I can look up what they’ve done for the day, we can talk about it, and I can sing the same songs that she sang at school with her. I’m still not convinced I like her new PDO as much as I did her old PDO, but I think Carina will take her social stimulation any way she can get it.  Callen seems to be enjoying his alone time with Mommy too.  When we walked outside after dropping Carina off, he literally cackled, as if he was elated to be an “only” child for a while.

When we got home, I was putting my keys in my purse before I got out of the car, and Carina asked to hold them.  She has held them before, so I didn’t think much of it when I handed them back to her.  However, in the time it took me to shut my door and walk around the car to her door, she had locked the car.  She was just sitting in her car seat, fob in hand, grinning out at me as if she had done the coolest trick ever.  For the next few minutes (it felt like 15 minutes, but I think it was more like 3).  I tried to explain to her in toddler terms which button she needed to push to unlock the car.  She just grinned at me and continued to push the lock button.  When I said, “No, push the other button!” She would move her thumb down to the panic button and just laugh as I said, “NO, NO, do NOT push that red button!” and then she would move her thumb back up to the lock button.  All the while, her other thumb was resting on the button she needed to push.  I didn’t know what I was going to do, because my phone was locked in the car too, along with a sleeping Callen. Finally, Carina unlocked the car and I got her out.  “You can’t hold the keys anymore,” I told her.  “I lock,” she said.  Yes Carina, you lock.

